The Best Relationship Article I Have Ever Read

As I typed that title, I realized I tend to hyperbolize.  Either that or I just think everything is fantastic!  Anyway, I usually hate articles about relationships.  They usually try to tell you what a good relationship looks like or if you found your soulmate and just leave you feeling worse about your own relationship because you can’t check off everything they list.

I found an article on the Move, Nourish, Believe blog from Lorna Jane that completely blew me away.  The post is called “10 Things You Can Do To Nourish Your Relationship.”  I think what sets it apart right away is that it is it talks about nourishing a relationship.  The suggestions are easy steps to encourage a healthy relationship.

Here is why I like each of the 10 points listed:

1. Stop pretending someone you’re not and just be yourself instead.  Sometimes in a long relationship, you tend to do things because that is what you have always done.  It might be hard to break into new things because that isn’t what you did when you started the relationship.  You don’t have to be stuck in that.  Just do what makes you happy!

2. Smile at your loved one. When I have something to complain about, my boyfriend is usually the first person to hear about it.  I need to stop doing that so much.  I need to remember that he makes me happy and just smile at him! 🙂

3. Realize things change. Your interests change.  Your jobs change.  Your goals change.  As long as you realize that, you can keep an open mind, accept it, and work it into your life.

4. Work out together.  It’s a little intimidating to work out with my boyfriend because he has been athletic his entire life, probably even before he was born.  But he was the one I went to when I wanted someone to run my first 5k with me.  I don’t like running with him so much but I like that we can be active together.

5. If you want quality time with your significant other, plan it.  I sometimes get annoyed when we get in a bit of a rut of just watching tv together in the week or not really spending any other quality time together.  No matter how far along you are in a relationship, you still need to plan to do stuff.  It doesn’t just happen by itself.  Someone should remind me of this on a weekly basis.

6. Express your needs.  Apparently you don’t miraculously become mindreaders, even if you have been together for almost forever.  Someone should remind me of this one too.

7. Give without any expectations. Do things for the other person without keeping track and expecting things in return.

8. Don’t stop caring about how you look. I’ve done this before, where I just wear sweats when my boyfriend comes over.  It kinda gives the impression that you don’t really care anymore. Now I like to show off my fancy muscles from running so this isn’t so much of a problem.

9. Cultivate intimacy and independence. I think one of the best things for my relationship is when we went to different colleges.  It let us make our own groups of friends and do the activities we really wanted to do. Having our own things going on keeps it more exciting.  Like we actually have things to talk about when we go out to dinner.

10. Inspire your partner by loving yourself fiercely. The more you love yourself, the more confident you are.  Jealousy isn’t a problem and you don’t seek out approval.  Perfect for a healthy relationship.

 

What’s the best piece of relationship advice you ever got?  The worst?

3 thoughts on “The Best Relationship Article I Have Ever Read

  1. Loved this post! So many of the comments you made about each point are true to my boyfriend and me too! Sometimes I get into the rut of just wearing old t-shirts to bed or we’ll watch tv together every night of the week. Love that you were so honest about your relationship and that you shared this article!

Leave a Reply

