10 Day You Challenge- 8 Fears

It’s a little confusing counting backward but I am on day 3, which means I am down to number 8, fears.  I only have one phobia.  I mean legitimate, think about it way too often, become unreasonable to avoid it kind of phobia.  The rest of the things on this list are more of thinks I am just not too fond of or would prefer don’t happen.

10-day-you-challenge

1. Snakes.  This is the phobia.  I have no idea where it came from or why it got so bad.  We have snakes that live by the pool at our house and I wasn’t really scared of them growing up.  It’s only been in recent years that I have not liked them.  All my reasons are serious though.  For one, no creature should be able to move that quickly and smoothly without appendages.  I do not like one bit that they slither along so easily without arms or legs.  It is unnatural and WRONG!  Also, I know many snakes are not poisonous but the snakes that are poisonous are seriously poisonous.  As in you get bit and can’t move within a minute.  Not cool.  Especially when I don’t know which snakes are or are not poisonous.

2. Asthma attacks.  Not so much of a fear, more like I would prefer for these to just never happen.  As long as I have an inhaler or some Benadryl I know I will be fine.  But those few moments before it kicks in are seriously unpleasant, frustrating, and make me more emotional and cranky than I like to be.

3. Asthma turning into COPD.  “Isn’t COPD what smokers get?” you ask.  Yeah, the main reason people get COPD (chronic obstructive pulmonary disease) is because they smoke.  One of the other reasons is asthma.  With asthma, you can control your symptoms and treat it pretty well.  With COPD, your airways become progressively worse.  I don’t want that to happen!

4. Snorkling.  Not really a fear, but I don’t enjoy it at all so I avoid it at all costs.  I think it has to do with the fact that you put your face in the water with only a small, unreliable way to get air.  That is pretty unpleasant in my opinion.

5. Living a boring life.  I don’t think anyone wants to look back on their life and think they gave a lackluster shot at living.

6. Saying something factually wrong.  I don’t know why this one bothers me so much but I don’t want to say something that isn’t true.  That’s why I tend to research everything before I write about it.

7. Getting bored of running/exercising.  I picked up running because I knew it would be good for my overall health.  Since I started, that has proven to be true.  I have also seen how stopping running has negatively affected my asthma.  I want to always be active so I can stay healthy!  I am scared that at some point it will become something I don’t like to do so I try whatever I can to keep it fun!

8. Meeting an animal on my run that won’t back down.  The area I live in (and run in) can sometimes look like the jungle.  There are always animals around, whether wild ones or pets.  I’ve gotten pretty close to deer on a few runs.  So far they have been scared off by my dog or by me clapping and yelling at them (I probably look insane doing it).  There have been a few black bear spottings in my town and that makes me very nervous.  I don’t even know what I would do if I saw a bear while running.  I also constantly have the fear that a snake will pop out from the bushes on the side of the road and bite me just because I got too close to it.  Refer back to #1 for this, it’s completely irrational but I can’t help it.

What’s your biggest fear?  Have you ever faced one of your fears head on?

5 thoughts on “10 Day You Challenge- 8 Fears

  1. Great list – interesting, but not surprising, the focus on breathing.

    I had to laugh at snakes, not because you don’t have a good set of reasons, but because when I was a kid we had an animal night in my elementary school and they wanted a volunteer to hold snakes and I shot up my hand and got picked … not knowing my dad was terribly scared of snakes. The things we do for our kids 🙂

    • Hahah that’s true. Didn’t realize how heavily the breathing weighed in until now!
      That sounds like a terrifying night. I would probably have left as soon as I saw that there were snakes included! What if they got out somehow?!??

  2. I have a completely irrational fear of sharks. I have a hard time getting in the ocean anywhere because of it. And if I do get in, I’m having an anxiety attack the whole time.

  3. Spot on with the snakes! I had the tiniest snake in my garage. I screamed! One of my best friends was walking by and I made her come look. The thing coiled up and was trying to strike! I’m sure we were giants to him but still!!!! My other neighbor was driving by and we made him stop and get it!!! :oops::oops::oops:I saw two slither across the path while running one day…nice sized! The first I screamed because it was too damn close. The second was far enough away that I waited until it slithered away before I continued. Other fears…rats, bats, and sharks (although I am glued to the tv during shark week…go figure!!!)

Leave a Reply

