A Reluctant Farewell to My Coffee Drinking Habit

Oh, coffee. What a wonderful beverage. We all love the caffeine in it. Research has even indicated it protects against type 2 diabetes, Parkinson’s disease, liver cancer, and liver cirrhosis. One study even says it is the number one source of antioxidants for Americans. Athletes use caffeine to boost performance. That’s how I rationalize drinking it in the morning before I go out for a run. I don’t drink it all the time but it is a nice kick every once in a while.

I am the type of person who is easily affected by the caffeine in a cup of coffee. At times it can be a wonderful thing. I get halfway through a cup and it’s like I can do anything and everything and I want to do it right now! It’s a euphoric, motivating feeling (perfect for starting a run). It can last all day for me sometimes, even on just that half a cup. Nothing else does it like coffee, not even tea or energy drinks.

A fancy-schmancy coffee I had on my trip to Spain in March.  The excuse this time?  Jet lag

A fancy-schmancy coffee I had on my trip to Spain in March. The excuse this time? Jet lag

Other times, it is not so great. I usually tell myself no coffee after 9am to avoid staying awake all night. Yesterday morning, I had a single cup that I didn’t even finish, at 6:30am. Guess what happened that night? You guessed it. I couldn’t get myself to go to bed. Once I fell asleep, it wasn’t a restful sleep. When I got up in the morning what did I do? I had another cup of coffee. It is now 6 hours later and I am still feeling that buzz.  My dad, on the other hand, can make himself an espresso right before bed and be totally fine.

What’s a girl to do? It looks to me like I am going to have to cut back. For someone who only has coffee occasionally, that is looking like cutting it out completely. It isn’t a big sacrifice but it is a habit that has to be broken. I will make the compromise, however, that I can have a little bit when I REALLY need the kick in the butt. Until that happens again, I will enjoy my nights of uninterrupted sleep!

12 thoughts on “A Reluctant Farewell to My Coffee Drinking Habit

  1. I can’t even imagine! I have about 4 cups before 9 a.m. lol Plus it’s also totally normal for me to have an iced coffee at 7 at night. I am definitely an addict, but it doesn’t keep my up all night so that’s a plus! Diet coke, on the other hand, has me staring at the ceiling until 3 a.m., but I’ve recently given it up. I miss it so much!!

    • Since I only have a little at a time I don’t get completely addicted which is fantastic. But I bet I’m going to have the coffee withdrawal headache tomorrow morning!

  2. Random thought – try decaf or tea for a couple of weeks and see if it really is the AM coffee … because when you think about your biological processes, chemical absorption and metabolization and so on – you find:
    – Maximum levels in blood 30-60 mins
    – Half-life of 3-6 hours
    – 100% metabolized within 10-14 hours.

    So when people tell you that soda/coffee after lunch messes with sleep, that is definitely possible .. but from 6 am? It makes me wonder whether there is something you are eating drinking later in the day that is powering your body to not sleep? Worth journaling to see …

    My wife is definitely the ‘1 cup with dinner and up at midnight wide-eyed’, whereas for me it really makes no difference.

    • In the winter I drink tea all the time (herbal, green, and black) and I’ve never really noticed any problem when it came time to go to bed. It would be interesting to try decaf and see if that made a difference. Maybe there is something else in the coffee that does it for me? But I’ve never really understood the point of decaf coffee!
      I also don’t think I’m eating or drinking anything else different later in the day. I haven’t noticed changes with what I’m eating on days I start with coffee but it might be worth journaling to see if I do something without realizing it!
      Actually, as I’m writing this I figured I would do a little googling. Just read that some people have problems with the substances that are created from dark-roasting coffee that can create symptoms like those of a caffeine sensitivy. Interesting! I’m pretty sure that’s the kind of coffee we have since that’s what my mom likes.

      • Interesting stuff I didn’t know! I know I am very fortunate because I really have no issues or intolerances to pretty much anything … for my wife who has a bunch of allergy and tolerance issues, we did a bunch of research and a paleo-ish diet transformation. It is amazing how much we don’t know about all of the ways various foods and drinks can impact our bodies! 🙂

  3. Oh my gosh, good luck! I could never give up coffee!! 😛 It does affect me too, but only if I drink it past five. So that’s great for late night studying, but not do great for getting a good nights sleep.

  4. The caffeine in tea is different than coffee! Perhaps that’s the difference for you. Also the stay awake could be your mind running the constant to do list every woman has running around in their head 24/7 lol

    • Wow, I didn’t know that! It could be that too. I have been keeping paper by my bed so I can write everything I can think of to do down before I fall asleep.

  5. Just a thought too! Keep track also of your workouts and what time of day you run. I noticed that sometimes if I workout or run later than normal, it completely affected my sleep. My body was still coming down from the run or workout. I usually can’t workout too late or I have the same thing. Sleeplessness! Good luck!

    • That is a good thought! During the week, I wake up early to run before work. On the weekends though, I take my time in the morning and sometimes don’t run til the afternoon. Could be part of the problem!

Leave a Reply

