Week 1 of the New Half Marathon Training Plan!

Here’s how the first week of the new training plan that I’m following went!

Monday: Stretch and Strengthen

I strengthened first, focusing on legs/butt and abs.  I did this at home so I just picked a workout from Pinterest, turned on Pandora and got to work.  After that I stretched using the same stretches I did when cheerleading in high school.  It covers pretty much everything but I added a few more stretches that are good for running.

Tuesday: 3 mile run

This was the run where I didn’t have my phone so I had no music or tracker.  You can read all about that experience here.  I was also running in my new sneakers for the first time.  The new shoes were great. They are the exact same kind as before but a half size bigger because my feet have apparently grown in the last year.  I guess I should have known I needed the extra room from the blisters on the front of my toes.

Wednesday: 2 mile run or cross train

I got up early to get this done in the morning.  I wanted to swim for cross training but my mom was only going to walk one of the dogs so I ran with the other one.  I used to only run if I was taking the dog but I’m not really in love with it anymore because  we never actually trained the dog very well.  Whether he was in front, behind, or right next to me he kept running into me and tripping me!  Not a great way to start the day.  I also didn’t stretch after and I felt it for the rest of the day.

Thursday: 3 mile run and strengthen

It was hot and muggy but I actually felt great on the run!  I walked a little bit but still ended up doing the loop in less time than usual! Afterwards I did abs and arms.  I also made sure to get a good stretch in!

Friday: Rest!

Rest was much needed on this day.  I made sure to relax all day and not run at all!

Saturday: 30 min cross training

I went for a walk with my mom, my sister, and the two dogs.  It was only supposed to be 30 min but we walked to big loop so it was closer to an hour.  It felt great to take it easy but still move around.

Sunday: 4 mile run

Sundays are for the long runs.  When I first started running, I would have considered a 4 mile run nearly impossible.  Now, I don’t even think it really counts as a long run (except that it was longer than the other runs in the week).  I was away for the weekend so I had to do it when I got home Sunday night.  My phone was almost dead and charging super slow again but I was able to JUST get a run out of it.  Time to go shopping for a new phone!  I felt pretty strong on the run.  I didn’t bring any water with me but I am thinking that for 5 miles and up I will need to bring something.

One week down, 12 to go!

All the weeks of the plan follow the same general pattern, maybe a little different if I am going to do a 5k or a 10k.  This week is exactly the same and then the miles start going up!

2 thoughts on “Week 1 of the New Half Marathon Training Plan!

    • Good idea! When I went for a 5 mile run before I took a loop that got me into town but my mom actually dropped a water bottle off on the side of the road for me. I think I might plan going into town for all of the long runs for hydration purposes!

Leave a Reply

