The beginning

Now that I have graduated, I guess it is time to pick up some new habits.  Now that I know I can stick with running (it’s been over a month since I started!), let’s see if I can write about it too.

I am going to run my first 5k on Sept. 7 and run my first half-marathon before my brother’s wedding in June.  If you had told me a year ago that those words would come out of my mouth, I would have laughed right in your face.  I hated running, probably because of my uncontrolled asthma, and just didn’t understand the appeal.  I would do some occasional yoga but stayed away from anything cardio related.  After going to the allergist for a few years now, I realized my breathing was back under control and I had no excuse.  I wanted to actually get in shape and what better way than running? As goal driven as I am, being able to measure progress through stats like distance and pace is the perfect motivation.  The first step is the 5k this September.  When I shared my goal with family and friends, I learned that my brother’s fiancee wants to run a half-marathon before the wedding in June so after I finish training for the 5k, I’m going to up the mileage to do that race with her.  It will be interesting to see if I can keep up the training when the temperature drops and the days get shorter!

How I started: I was scrolling through my phone on the long 4th of July weekend trying to find new apps to keep me entertained.  I don’t know what possessed me but I clicked on RunKeeper and haven’t looked back since.  After checking out all the different training plans offered, I found the perfect one for me, a beginner 5k plan.  It’s the perfect mix of walks, runs, and interval training to ease me in and keep it exciting.  I put the leash on the dog and started the first run!  I have been following the plan for just over a month now and I can absolutely see the difference from when I started.  I take fewer walking breaks, I can go further and I can actually run all of the intervals.  I have really surprised myself with how dedicated I have been to training and pushing myself.

Leave a Reply

